President Yukio Himiyama announcing the new composition of the Board of the International Geographical Union


We are happy to publish the letter with which the IGU president announces the new composition of the Board. We also inform you that as regards the Toponymy Commission, the components have all been renewed for the period 2020-2024.


“Dear IGU Colleagues,

As our Secretary General informed you, we have new Executive Committee members elected for 2020.8-2024.8. I would like to thank all those involved in the election, including the candidates, tellers and National Committee Chairs, and congratulate those elected, namely Michael Meadows (President), Nathalie Lemarchand (VP), Holly Barcus (VP), Barbaros Gonencgil (VP), Celine Rozenblat (VP), and 34th IGC in Melbourne 2028.

Due to the postponement of the 34th IGC because of COVID-19, The election was conducted by using e-ballot as part of e-General Assembly which replaces the General Assembly scheduled in the 34th IGC in Istanbul on 18th, 19th and 20th August this year. As there are a number of important agendas apart from the election, the e-General Assembly takes more than a month, and ends only on 21st August when the present Executive Committee holds its last EC session, followed by a virtual mini General Assembly, which I hope to be of practical importance and vivid.

The first announcement of this virtual meeting will be made on around 10th July.  On conclusion of this virtual meeting on 21st August, the new Executive Committee for 2020.8-2024.8 shall start. So, we will have a fairly busy time ahead from now.

Let’s enjoy this new style of General Assembly,which I believe is challenging and exciting, particularly under the setting created by COVID-19.

Sincerely Yours,


Yukio Himiyama, IGU President”

Aug 4, 2020 | Posted by in News and Events | 0 comments
Premium Wordpress Themes by UFO Themes